FSM at a Glance

Map of FSM

Flag of the Federated States of Micronesia


Pohnpei State Flag


Kosrae State Flag


Chuuk State Flag

Yap State Flag

Seal of the Federated States of Micronesia

The Federated States of Micronesia is composed of over 600 islands and atolls located in the northwestern Pacific Ocean. The FSM, comprises a land mass area a less than 500 square miles, but encompasses an ocean area of more than 1 million square miles. The four main island states are Chuuk, Kosrae, Pohnpei and Yap. The capitol of the FSM, Palikir, is located on Pohnpei. Some of the other islands or atolls that are part of the Federated States of Micronesia include Nguluw, Ulithi, Fais, Sorol, Eaurupig, Woleai, Ifalug, Namocheg, Satawan, Piig, Pulap, Puluwat, Namoluk, Ettal, Oneop, Lukunoch, Kuttu, Moch, Losap, Nama, Nomonweto, Mwoakilloa, Pingelap, Sapwuahfik, Kapingamarangi and Nukuoro.